Passion in Washington DC

A friend has mentioned to me about some male nudity in Stephen Sondheim’s PASSION in D.C.

Here is an except from an interview with Claybourne Elder, one of the stars of the show , from Metro Weekly:

MW: You start out the show naked. How was that for you?

ELDER: I do, yeah. Ruth Bader Ginsburg came to an early performance and saw me naked, and all I could think was, “I’m sorry, Ruth.” It was very nerve-racking at first. I’ve been in shows before where I’ve been naked — I was in Angels in America — but I’d never been on stage in a sexual situation while being naked. Luckily I do it with Steffanie Leigh, who is my incredible co-star in that scene.

MW: She’s also naked, which we see as you two hop out of bed at the end of the opening scene.

ELDER: She’s very naked. She’s more naked than me. I’m wearing a little cock sock. I call it the glitter dick because it’s kind of shimmery. It’s flesh-toned and has a sheen on it. I don’t get to come off stage, so I have to wear that the whole show.

There’s a lot of sheet choreography to make sure we don’t show off too much. The nudity is important, in that it’s telling the story of a sexual relationship. It’s important to have it, but you also don’t want just cock and balls, cock and balls, cock and balls. You want the audience to listen to what you’re saying.

passion6

Passion
Presented by Signature Theatre

Musical
Opens August 14, 2018
Closes September 23, 2018

Signature Theatre – The MAX Theatre
4200 Campbell Avenue
Arlington, VA 22206
703-820-9771
Runtime: 2 hours with 1 intermission
$40 – $104
Show Dates
Tuesday, Aug 14 @ 7:30 pm
Wednesday, Aug 15 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Aug 16 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Aug 17 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Aug 18 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Aug 19 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Aug 19 @ 7:00 pm
Wednesday, Aug 22 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Aug 23 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Aug 24 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Aug 25 @ 2:00 pm
Saturday, Aug 25 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Aug 26 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Aug 26 @ 7:00 pm
Tuesday, Aug 28 @ 7:30 pm
Wednesday, Aug 29 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Aug 30 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Aug 31 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 1 @ 2:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 1 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 2 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 2 @ 7:00 pm
Tuesday, Sept 4 @ 7:30 pm
Wednesday, Sept 5 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Sept 6 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Sept 7 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 8 @ 2:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 8 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 9 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 9 @ 7:00 pm
Tuesday, Sept 11 @ 7:30 pm
Wednesday, Sept 12 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Sept 13 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Sept 14 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 15 @ 2:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 15 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 16 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 16 @ 7:00 pm
Tuesday, Sept 18 @ 7:30 pm
Wednesday, Sept 19 @ 7:30 pm
Thursday, Sept 20 @ 8:00 pm
Friday, Sept 21 @ 8:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 22 @ 2:00 pm
Saturday, Sept 22 @ 8:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 23 @ 2:00 pm
Sunday, Sept 23 @ 7:00 pm

Set in 1860s Italy, this gorgeous musical ignites a fiery love triangle when a handsome army captain is transferred to a remote military outpost and into the blinding infatuation of Fosca, the ailing cousin of his superior. Fosca’s fervent longing draws him in as it threatens to upend his career in an exhilarating tangle of obsession, desire, madness, and above all, passion.

Starring Natascia Diaz (West Side Story), Stephen Sondheim’s lush and romantic Tony Award®-winning Best Musical will thrill audiences in a radiant new staging by Associate Artistic Director Matthew Gardiner (West Side Story, Sunday in the Park with George, Crazy for You).

Passion
Book by James Lapine
Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim

Cover-Claybourne-678x1024

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s